Today’s post is actually a guest post by author of After the Fall, Carissa Lusk. I invited her to tell us about her book and this is her article. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

afetr-the-fall

Why I Write: You Only Live Once

Hello fellow readers and writers.
We’ve all seen the tee shirts or Facebook posts displaying a mantra for teens and hipsters: YOLO. You Only Live Once. I remember when the acronym was at its peak of popularity. In my thirties already, I’d roll my eyes at the expression and think, “Well, duh.” Yeah, a totally mature response, I know. But then I realised these kids were on to something. I’m not one of those immortal characters in the novels I love to read. I’m just a mundane, a Muggle.

I’d been working a social services job for twelve years, and although I loved my co-workers, I hated the work. The job sucked so much out of me that I had no energy to do what I really wanted—write. The biggest thing on my very own mental bucket list, bigger than seeing the Northern Lights or going on a Shiprocked Cruise, was to be a published author. So I just went for it… because I’ll only live once. I published After the Fall, a new adult paranormal romance novel, in July. Check one off my bucket list.

About After the Fall


· New adult paranormal romance
· Available on Amazon, IBooks, Barnes and Noble, and Kobo

Amity cries out into the darkness that surrounds her, hoping for a solitary voice to provide direction; she hears two…

Her love for Alexander is epic, yet the loneliness brought on by the miles that separate them can only be curbed by the cryptic affection of Marcus Riley. Amity can’t understand the strange familiarity she finds in the wild blue of Marcus’s eyes, but she will soon learn his secret.

Plagued with dreams and memories of lives beyond her own, a tragic fate will emerge from the ashes of a love scorned. Eventually, she will discover the dark truth that will leave her running for her life, and she will learn who sacrificed everything to save it.

About Carissa Lusk


Carissa Lusk grew up in a small town in West Virginia and never moved far from home. She earned a Bachelor of Arts in English from Concord College. She credits her love of reading and writing to Kate Chopin, Emily Bronte, and her mom. After the Fall is Carissa’s debut novel.
Check out After the Fall here.

Connect


Carissa Lusk on Facebook
Carissa Lusk on Twitter
Carissa Lusk on Instagram
After the Fall on Goodreads
After the Fall by Carissa Lusk | BookShop
After the Fall – UK link

