I was lucky enough to win a copy of this delightful book in a Goodreads Giveaway. To be honest, it is outside my genre as a reader (and certainly outside as a writer) but I have catholic taste and had entered thinking the blurb was intriguing.

So, These Days of Ours arrived without fanfare on my doormat one sunny day this Spring and I put it on my to be read pile. When I got round to reading it, it was a hot summers day and I was looking for something gentle I could enjoy between bouts of watching Wimbledon. (Whew! Is that exciting or what?) I thoroughly enjoyed this cosy romance, became increasingly angry at the jealous, vindictive and shallow Becca, found myself wondering how on Earth Kate could always be so kind, forgiving and wimpish and yet could not put the book down. (Except to enjoy Roger Federer of course).

The book is a delightful series of vignettes written around social occasions that outline the past history of Kate, Becca, Charlie, Julian and a varied supporting cast. It is actually beautifully written and the characters are very lifelike. Towards the end Juliet Ashton drops some real bombshells and without giving too much away (don’t you hate reviews that rewrite the story?) These Days of Ours has a very happy ending.

I recommend this book for anyone who enjoys old fashioned romances without too much sex or for anyone who is a sucker for long slow build ups and happy endings.

