Every sentient being searches for happiness and is subject to suffering. That is a fundamental truth of existence. Finding a philosophy that helps maximise the first and minimise the second is a goal worth having. Buddhism is a philosophy based in psychology that helps many to achieve a happier existence, but for those who find the approach a little too scriptural there is The Dalai Lama’s Cat….

The Dalai Lama's Cat and the Art of PurringThe Dalai Lama’s Cat and the Art of Purring by David Michie
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

It is difficult to write a review of what happens in this delightful book without adding spoilers and that is something I am not going to do! Suffice it to say that I had to get a copy as soon as it became available in the UK! I was a little concerned how a sequel would stand up because very often the original inspiration is so much better. In this case I was not disappointed. In a way, I found this a more thoughtful book than the first but I dearly love them both. The Snow Lion is very close to my heart (having been owned by one of my own) so it is almost as if these books are meant for me. 🙂 I know I shall be reading The Art of Purring again and again – just like The Dalai Lama’s Cat – because there is much more to it than just a simple cat story and it takes time to absorb it all. This is a book that those drawn to Buddhism and cat lovers alike will enjoy.

The simple premise is that the Dalai Lama goes away for 45 days on business and sets HHC the task of finding out “What makes you purr?” During the course of the book HHC learns much about the art of purring from the human beings (and the animals) around her. At the end, the Snow Lion makes a surprising and disturbing discovery about a past life that gives her real food for thought! Not telling…. you have to read it for yourself! As happiness is something all beings desire, this book is very helpful and Rinpoche’s discoveries about happiness will be pertinent to all sentient beings! Highly recommended for all fans of the Snow Lion and those who would like to meet her.

View all my reviews

